Search This Blog

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Timeline of the Wars of the Roses

The Wars of the Roses took place over three stages, although the exact dates and transitions are often contested:

First Stage: 1459-1461. Lancastrian King Henry VI and son Prince Edward, Margaret of Anjou, Henry Duke of Somerset VS. Richard and son Edward, Dukes of York, Richard Neville, Earl of Warwick (Anne’s father). Yorkist victory.

Second Stage: 1469-1471. Edward IV VS. Warwick and Clarence VS. Henry VI’s supporters, Margaret, Prince Edward, Somerset and Pembroke. Yorks win again.

Third Stage: 1483-1487. Richard III VS. Edward V and supporters, Buckingham, Elizabeth Woodville’s family, and later Henry Tudor. York defeat and beginning of Tudor reign.

If you want to know why all of this started in the first place, here are the top five causes.

Timeline courtesy of my lovely assistant, Mary Margaret Kunze.

1 comment:

  1. This is pretty good. There is a typo in your very attractive chart - Henry becomes Henry VII, not VIII.